Awake

Right on Harlem

Did I shut the garage?

I80 West… no, East

Merge

Merge

Merge

Is it too late now to say sorry

I57 North

She’s so high, Like Cleopatra, Joan of Arc, or Aphrodite

159th is coming soon

Merge

Merge

Merge

How did I get here so fast?

Merge

Merge

Left on Kedzie

That light was green wasn’t it?

Stop for the bus

Turned my life into this country song

Left on 147th

Now that’s definitely a red light, oh no, green arrow

No cops, left on Turner

Jai Guru Deva. Om Nothing’s gonna change my world

Left into the parking lot

Sorry, didn’t see you there

Parking spot is taken

Good morning, coworkers!

PSA: Driving before caffeine influence can lead to copious consequences.

12 comments

  1. Kim K · March 1, 2016

    AH!!!! So glad you’re here!!!!! Welcome! Now on to this: I’m reading it and my head is bobbing back and forth as I read along with your flow. So so good. The end just cracked me up and made me go back and reread it. Excellent first slice!!!

    Like

  2. Deanna H · March 1, 2016

    I really enjoyed reading this. Your writing is like a breath of fresh air. Keep it up!

    Like

  3. ccahill2013 · March 1, 2016

    Awake indeed – and without caffeine yet?! I followed that route right along with you. At first I thought you were driving and thinking about the need to apologize to someone. Then i picked up on your subtle and clever structure and words. Music! Love my music in the A.M.! Welcome to the SOL writing community. You’ll find warmth and love at every “turn”.

    Like

  4. Lynn · March 1, 2016

    Welcome! Loved your slice, I could feel the “ride” along with you!

    Like

  5. elsie · March 1, 2016

    Now is this you writing on caffeine? Too clever and very enjoyable reading.

    Like

    • hintsofhildy · March 1, 2016

      Oh, please know that I could not construct a complete, comprehensible sentence without that first sip of java 🙂 Glad you enjoyed it!

      Like

  6. rosecappelli · March 1, 2016

    Welcome, Hildy! I loved your play with words – very clever! Found myself going back to read it again. And I love the picture on your blog. Where are you?

    Like

    • hintsofhildy · March 1, 2016

      I am currently in Chicago but that is a picture of Mount Rainier. It was basically in my backyard growing up in the Pacific Northwest. It’s a part of me that I will carry wherever I may live. It’s a reminder for me of where I came from, but, also to slow down and appreciate the beauty in life because it’s all around us. I took this sight for granted growing up – never again!

      Liked by 1 person

  7. Tom Foth · March 1, 2016

    So glad you are giving it a go. Count me as one who will wait on your every post!

    Like

  8. Leigh Anne · March 1, 2016

    I love your PSA – mine would be a Diet Coke warning though! I love how you crafted this with the white space and the line breaks. It certainly gives it a feel of driving! Welcome to the slicing community! I can’t wait to read more of your slices!

    Like

  9. LSquared · March 2, 2016

    My favorite line from this ride is “turned my life into a country song.” I make up country song spoofs sometimes when I’m driving and working through issues. Thanks!

    Like

  10. llsmiles · March 2, 2016

    This is a work of art! Both visually appealing and language rich, this piece sucked me into your busy life. The caffeine was a surprise ending for me because I felt a sense of dread all the while. Beautiful piece. Welcome from your welcome wagoner! I am so looking forward to reading your slices.

    Like

Leave a Reply

