Confidence

Ever have one of those days where your pants don’t fit right? You just can’t seem to find the right pair of shoes to go with your outfit? Your makeup looks a little wonky and maybe, just maybe, you over zealously went for the blue eye shadow? Ever feel like a stranger in your own body?

Your gut hangs just a little too far over the belt loops.
Your hair has a few stray strands dancing to the beat of each footstep.
The dry lips you thought would be gone by March have lingered for a few extra sand-papery kisses.
Your fingers even look strange to you (when did you get old lady hands?)

Nope, me either. I rock. You rock. We all rock, HEY!

I may not be perfect but parts of me are pretty awesome.

5 comments

  1. Rita K. · March 3, 2016

    Oh yes, I’ve had days like this, Hildy. Love the part about the “old lady hands”. One of my grandaughters delights in pressing the veins in my hands. She thinks it’s a game.

    Like

  2. Leigh Anne · March 3, 2016

    Well let’s see…old lady hands, check. Stray (and gray) strands, check. Pants don’t fit right, check. I feel right at home here! Great post.

    Like

  3. rosecappelli · March 4, 2016

    Great post! I was agreeing with just about everything you said, then you changed it up! We all rock. Yes, I’ll go with that!

    Like

  4. elsie · March 4, 2016

    Love the flip of the slice! As I was reading I thought this doesn’t fit with her header, but then you flipped it and it was a perfect match! Very clever!

    Like

  5. J.Tiggs · March 4, 2016

    Definitely have had days like this. Love the word choice and how the tone changes at the end! I was right with you thinking about my reflection in the mirror two years post baby and then was smacked in the face by the change.

    Like

Leave a Reply

