Second Family

I have a second family that I’ve been a part of since I was in 8th grade. The Jones/Forte family has been a wonderful part of my life since I was this weird little 14 year old trying to figure out how to put on eyeliner. Ive been lucky to have this family accept me as one of their own.

The older Jones girls, Nicole and Danielle, have been the big sisters I always wanted. They taught me how to do my hair, lent me clothes for dates, gave me hand-me-downs,  gave me advice on boys, helped me in sticky situations and loved me unconditionally. They kept me around, year after year, regardless of my poor choices in eyeshadow and my countless life accidents.

Rochelle’s mom has loved me for me since day one. We’ve teamed up against Roche, trying to make her better. We’ve laughed together and I’ve cried to her and come to her for help. Every time I’ve needed her she’s been there for me, just as a mom  should be. She’s been a mom she didn’t have to be. She chose to love me as her own and she still continues to take care of me as an adult.

Having a family that accepts you as one of their own and welcomes your husband into their inner circle as well is something that is difficult to describe. I know I am going to sleep tonight after a long evening spent with family. I’m going to bed tonight with a smile on my face and a lot of live in my heart. The Jones/Forte family is one of a kind and I owe a lot of my happiness to their presence!

2 comments

  1. Kim K · March 19, 2016

    I am loving that you are in this challenge! I’m learning so much about you. And it is awesome sauce. You are surrounded by awesome peeps cause you are an awesome peep. 🙂

    Like

  2. ccahill2013 · March 20, 2016

    That is a true blessing – this family you describe. Thanks for the peek into such a neat part of your life!

    Like

Leave a Reply

