Mirror, Mirror

Today I got to spend time with a couple of girls that mean quite a bit to me. They are the daughters of our pastor and her husband, John and Rochelle. These 2 girls have planted themselves in my heart long ago and have grown wildly ever since.

Today I realized that it’s kind of neat being an adult and having this influence with kids. It was one of those moments where you look at a situation and see yourself as a kid in the same instance. We had lunch at a restaurant that I grew up going to on Sundays after church. When the waitress asked what I wanted I didn’t skip a beat and replied, “I’ll have a green river, please.” It wasn’t something that I had thought about in years but it rolled off of my tongue as if I place this order weekly. It’s the traditional green drink you just have to have when you go to this restaurant. Your parents always get to go through the salad bar with their meal. It’s necessary that mom piles her plate high with baby corn and then deposits them on a napkin for you to eat while the adults try to talk about something othet than cartoons. This place is also next door to a pet shop. After you’re done with you lunch you get to go look at all the animals next door. But not without a stop in the old school, wooden phone booth on your way out of the restaurant. Oh, and don’t forget the candy machines – you’ll need a handful of runts to keep you company at the pet store.

All of these things were mirrored today in these 2 beautiful little girls. They stole the baby corn from their mom. They played in the phone booth and they took a trip to the pet store. They sat quietly while adults talked. They bothered each other and poked and proded to see who would be the first to squeal. They crawled under the table. One leaned against me, whispering “hug” each time she did so. The other put her foot on my knee and played footsie with me under the table. They were trying to tell me they love me. They wanted my attention and they got it. I adore them. I want them to turn out to be the wonderful, intelligent, beautiful, creative, brave girls I know they can be. I want to show them a little bit of the world and have them remember moments like this with me.

I know they will. I know they will because I was once them, poking the young adult at the table asking for attention. I wanted to sit with her at church. I wanted her to be my friend. And she was and it left an imprint on my life that cannot be erased. I am so pleased I get to be that girl for these 2. I can’t wait to watch them grow up and do the same for someone else’s little kids. It’s a really special role to walk into.

3 comments

  1. sallydonnelly11 · March 21, 2016

    I so enjoyed this story. Then when I scrolled up again, I noticed the title, a perfect title!
    I found comfort in seeing that even with the passing of time, much stays the same.

    Like

  2. llsmiles · March 21, 2016

    You know, until reading this slice I think I’d forgotten how impressionable we are as kids. I love how this slice took me back through your childhood. This sounds like the making of a picture book. I could see its beautiful illustrations and poetic language on the printed page. My favorite lines:
    They bothered each other and poked and proded to see who would be the first to squeal. They crawled under the table. One leaned against me, whispering “hug” each time she did so. The other put her foot on my knee and played footsie with me under the table. They were trying to tell me they love me

    Like

  3. Samantha Marquardt · March 23, 2016

    You have so clearly expressed the importance of being a positive role model. These little people look up to us as a guide to the world. Let’s teach them right. I felt the strong love you feel for these two sweet girls. 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

