My Daddy

I HATE saying goodbye to people. I hate saying goodbye to people that I have spent so much time with over the years. Saying goodbye to childhood friends after a weekend together is hard. Saying goodbye to the place I grew up is hard. Saying goodbye to my home church is hard. The worst is saying goodbye to my Daddy. I am my father’s daughter.

We both try to hold it in: our anxiety, our sadness, our anger.

We both let it out at the wrong times: our obnoxious laughs, our tears, our anger.

We both love in unconventional ways: awkward moments of divulging how we feel, a little yelling and a lot of apologizing, loyalty forever.

We don’t always get along. We haven’t always seen eye to eye. Our history has not always been rosy. But our future is one of the things I look forward to the most. With all the ups and downs my daddy and I have had we have learned HOW to love each other. We have learned how to react (or not react) and how to apologize from watching each other. My daddy is my biggest hero.

Saying goodbye to the man that has taught me how to love myself first and then love others unconditionally is the most difficult thing I have to do on a regular basis. I hate saying goodbye to the man that has lead the way in front of me, changing the parts of you that are the hardest parts to change. The tears in his eyes when we pull apart tell me he feels the same.

I HATE saying goodbye. I HATE leaving my daddy.

6 comments

  1. Kim K · March 22, 2016

    A daddy is. That’s all I can day. Daddies just are. They are everything to a little (and big) girl. Hugs for having to leave.

    Like

  2. travelinma · March 22, 2016

    Oh boy! You just don’t know how much I can relate to this….especially with my Daddy. It makes my heart ache for you and for me.

    Like

  3. ccahill2013 · March 22, 2016

    It’s so interesting how like our parents we are – especially when we favor one parent over the other in our qualities. Sounds like you have a really special bond with your father – you’re very lucky.

    Like

  4. sallydonnelly11 · March 22, 2016

    My favorite line is: Saying goodbye to the man that has taught me how to love myself first and then love others unconditionally …As a parent myself I hadn’t thought about how through my unconditional love, I am modeling that for my children. Your beautiful tribute to your dad got me thinking about so much. Thank you for that. And I hope you share this with your dad!

    Like

  5. Samantha Marquardt · March 23, 2016

    Your father has clearly been an inspiration to you and has taught you so much. Unconditional love…that is a hard one to teach…it sounds like you have a wonderful role model. And, you know, we are hardest on the ones we love the most. Thank you for sharing!

    Like

Leave a Reply

