Where Everybody Knows Your Name

If you could invite anyone in the world, dead or alive, to be your dinner guest whom would you choose?

I ask this question to many of my friends, my family, regular bar patrons and even acquaintances. It’s a great conversation starter and it tells you a lot about a person. It’s a question that gets to the heart of someone without being too probing. When you pose a question like this a person is more likely to reveal bits of themselves because it is their story to tell and not an interview question to answer.

My husband and I decided to go out for dinner tonight mainly because we were both feeling too lazy to cook the pork I had pulled out of the freezer for us. Normally I try to avoid going to the restaurant/bar where I work when I am not on duty. My husband LOVES going there but has learned to avoid asking if we can go because it’s usually answered with an eye roll and a “no thanks”. Tonight, I suggested we go there and the look in his eye told me he was pleasantly surprised.

We had a really great conversation as we drove the 20 minutes to the restaurant and enjoyed each others company as we sipped our first cocktail (yep, I said first because this gal doesn’t have work tomorrow!) The patrons at this restaurant are really something to be bragged about. I felt like I was at home the minute I walked in. Now, it might be different because I work there but I was greeted with smiles and waves and hugs and “hey are you working? go get me a beer”‘s. The girls that were working were happy to jab jokes back and forth with my husband and I. They asked about our recent trip and we asked about their family news. I loved every second of this familiar interaction with friendly faces at this “it’s totally like Cheers” bar.

I was pleasantly surprised when a coworker and her daughter sat down next to us at the bar. We had such a wonderful evening catching up and chatting about everything under the sun! We laughed, we worried, we confided in one another – it was a reminder of how wonderful relationships cannot be worn down with time apart.

I don’t like going to dinner at my restaurant/bar but I do love the feeling I have when we leave. It’s great to know that you are loved! Where everyone knows your name is the only place for me to be. They make fun of you and build your ego all in one sentence. How did I find myself in a place so wonderful as this?

 

2 comments

  1. Samantha Marquardt · March 25, 2016

    It sounds like you are very lucky to feel at home where you work.

    Like

  2. Leigh Anne · March 26, 2016

    To answer your first question, I would have many people whom I would like to have dinner with. Tonight I feel like Princess Diana would be a great dinner guest. I loved her compassion and empathy for others and right now I feel like our world could learn a little bit from her. Your restaurant/bar/work place sounds like a great place to be…on or off the clock!

    Like

Leave a Reply

