The Grateful Red

Wanna know whats cool about college sports? Everything.

March Madness has maddened our family. The Wisconsin Badgers lost this evening and my husband lost a piece of his heart. He was screaming and jumping and fist pumping and there may have been a few tears shed. My husband is a die hard Badger Basketball fanatic. Like, lunatic but because it is a sport thing it’s filed under fanatic. I just consider him a lost cause.

We watched the game this evening with other like-minded fans. We gathered together as a family at Union South at the University of Wisconsin campus. We shared cheese curds, brats and beers. We all wore our Badger red. Everyone cheered when Vito Brown shot his downtown 3’s and everyone booed when Ethan Happ fouled out. We cried, “Dammit Nigel” and we shouted “SHOWEY!” in unison. There was never a room so full of unison and passion as the Union South was tonight. This is why I love college sports.

I often foul my husband for being a raging Badger fan rather than a spouting Sun Devil but I cannot keep up the charade when I myself fall victim to the powerful force of camaraderie and sportsmanship. You want to join in with the shouts of glee and the cries for help. It’s infectious. The feeling of being unified by one common interest transcends age, gender, occupation, race, religion, political preference, and economic status. When it  comes to being a Badger fan, one just is. There is no explaining and there is no reasoning. It runs in the blood, it runs in the beer, it makes America great again.

3 comments

  1. sallydonnelly11 · March 26, 2016

    I connect so well with this…however, I’m from Virginia and attended the University and watched my team with the same gusto as you describe. Only I was wearing orange! And I happily get to watch them again tomorrow night (not to brag but so proud of this team!!) I love how you included so many details – I felt like I was at that bar with you!! Great slice.

    Like

  2. Leigh Anne · March 27, 2016

    Nothing like March Madness!

    Like

  3. Samantha Marquardt · March 28, 2016

    We are Wisconsin Badger fans too!! We were listening to the game in the car on the way to Colorado from Wisconsin. It was a sad ending. 😦 Union South is SO FUN, though!! What a great place to watch the game!

    Like

Leave a Reply

