Family Matters

Today I got to spend time with family. Is there really anything better? I love being around people who drive you nuts and make you wish you were adopted (oh, I am? I forgot). They complicate the simplest things and frustrations soar with each decision that has to be made. Like, who will ride with Dad to Grandmas? Do you want dinner now or later? Is leaving at 7:45 too early? Did you remember to take a shit this morning? I want donuts and I want them now!

Okay, obviously these things are exaggerated (except the pooping thing). I truly do love my family and my in laws. This special Easter mini-trip was especially wonderful because we got to spend it as a whole unit with Grandma and everything. It’s not often we can all gather in the same place at the same time (and everyone leaves with all limbs still attached). Being with people who love you for you is a wonderful environment. Family accepts and encourages your weirdness, your predictable eggs benedict nature, your 1,000 cases of diet coke because they were on sale, your hard-headed love for a school you didn’t go to, and your desire to play devil’s advocate on literally every topic ever.

My family is not mine by blood. They are mine by marriage and they are mine by choice. Every time I am with these fools I am reminded of how lucky we are in this life to get the chance to make connections and explore human interaction. I share so much love with these wonderful people who are so different from me and yet so similar and familiar. We get the chance to teach each other and grow with each other. I truly don’t know if there is a better way to spend a holiday all about new beginnings than with the family I chose to start a new chapter of life with.

4 comments

  1. maribethbatcho · March 27, 2016

    I love the irreverence of your piece! I love the first paragraph’s honesty (and let’s be honest, every sentence is exactly what you wanted to say! :-)). I love that I can relate on so many levels, and I love that this little piece made me laugh. Have a great day!

    Like

  2. Glenda Funk · March 27, 2016

    You had me giggling w/ the poop, keeping limbs in tact, and other hyperbole. Yes, family makes us crazy, mostly in good ways!

    Like

  3. Samantha Marquardt · March 28, 2016

    This tribute to your family is beautifully honest. Your true self and voice show in your writing.

    Like

  4. Tom Foth · April 2, 2016

    Just remember… that choice extended both ways… which is what makes it so precious.

    Like

Leave a Reply

