Hey Bartender

One of the not so glamorous things about being a teacher is getting to have two jobs. I have one job that I love, that I’ve worked really hard to attain and maintain, that I have 2 degrees for and that I can see myself doing for the rest of my life. I have another job that I love (luckily), that I stumbled into and that helps me earn money in order to keep my other job.

I am a server at a local bar and restaurant 2 days a week. Before I had my full time teaching position I worked there a lot more, maybe 4 days a week on average. I took a pay cut to become a teacher. I couldn’t entirely quit working at the bar because I needed that income to help pay for some of the things for my classroom and my bills and other big girl things. I also couldn’t quit because I absolutely love it there!

When I moved to Illinois I didn’t know anyone beside my (at the time) fiancé. It was a really lonely time for me. After 4 months I started working at The Fifth Quarter. The people that I met through working at this bar have accepted me as one of their own and treat me as family. They ask about my personal life. They laugh with me. They reassure me when I’m feeling down. They tease me and bully me and make me feel like a little sister. I am at home with these people. The regulars and my coworkers make work feel not so much like a chore.

So, I’m pretty bummed that I have to go to work in a couple of hours because I would rather continue my Vanderpump marathon and be here when my husband gets home from work. Since it is St. Patrick’s Day weekend we’ve got a band coming in. It will be a late night. I could be annoyed with the drunkenness, the loud noises, the short tempers, etc. Or I could choose to make the best of what lies ahead and enjoy the people who want to be happy with me. I could count my blessings because I have 2 jobs that are fun and enjoyable for me when some people cannot even find one.

Happy Saturday!

4 comments

  1. Kim K · March 12, 2016

    You have such a happy outlook on things. I love this. It stinks that teachers can’t make enough to support themselves and their classrooms. You go above and beyond and for that you are awesome. 🙂

    Like

  2. rosecappelli · March 12, 2016

    Sounds like fun! Good you were able to continue with something you enjoy.

    Like

  3. Raivenne · March 12, 2016

    Excellent way to look at it in the end. Sometimes we get so used to the annoyances we forget the blessings. Enjoy tonight, hope it’s not too rowdy for you.

    Like

  4. Leigh Anne · March 13, 2016

    It is sad that many teachers have to have a second job! I hope you survived, but hey, I am sure you got a couple of slices out of the green night!

    Like

Leave a comment