Moments of Love

This one follows me down the hall. She says, “Hey, how’s it going?” When I reply, “Eh, it’s fine” something must get her wheels turning. She puts aside any of her own personal morning jobs and joins me in my classroom. She jumps into action helping me return furniture to its rightful place after the weekend cleaning (or lack thereof). Calm, casual conversation just checking in and being present. She is showing me she cares, no words are needed.

A moment that reminds me I am loved.

“I’m going to Chipotle for lunch, send me your order,” another one shouts as she walks by my classroom door. She knows I’m obsessed and can’t say no. She doesn’t ask me to send her money or come along for the ride. She delivers it with a comforting smile, handing it over as if it were a common occurrence. It seems so natural to do things for each other.

A moment that reminds me I am loved.


This one hugs me at the copy machine and tells me, “I’m doing this even though you hate hugs.”

A moment that reminds me I am loved.

Another one teases me about my small feet and how silly it looks in my walking boot. She adds how she thought of me this weekend and it made her smile.

A moment that reminds me I am loved.

A midday text from a bestie in AZ. An exposé on one of my favorite things to laugh at. A true lunch time belly laugh sent to me from all the way across the nation. 

A moment that reminds me I am loved.

Arriving home after a long day of work and a basketball game. I’m tired and ready for bed. My favorite girl offers to pour me a whiskey so I can get my writing done (a commitment that had completely escaped my mind). She remembered the writing because she cares about the things that are important to me. She reminded me because she won’t let me fail. She remembered the whiskey because she cares about the things that are important to me. She reminded me because I am basically Hemmingway.

A moment that reminds me I am loved.

A moment here and a moment there has, upon reflection, turned into a full day of feeling loved and cared for. Not at my best, not at my worst, no big gestures but nothing too small, just love in moments when I needed it most.