Why So Glum, Sugar Plum?

Today was one of those days that I started to feel kinda curmudgeonly around noon for no good reason. As I walked outside to pick up my kids from recess, I was greeted with shouts of laughter and waves and hugs. I’ve only been gone for 30 minutes you affectionate weirdos. But that was enough to stop myself in my tracks. I decided to make a mental note of all the things I was thankful for/that make me happy the rest of the day. Here’s my list:

  • Sharing suspenseful literature with my whole class during a read aloud – you can feel the air sucked out of the room!
  • When a kid makes you have a full on belly laugh!
  • 30 minutes of quiet when they go to PE – ahhh
  • Grading tests and seeing excellent results
  • Exploring and researching things with kids because they are totally interested (today’s topic: space and how space suits are made)
  • Custodial staff that are awesome-sauce!
  • The automatic lock function on my car. Everytime it does it it reminds me that I’m safe.
  • The XM radio stations with no commercials
  • Having enough savings for that $250 car repair bill we weren’t expecting
  • Having enough gas in my tank (and patience in my soul) to go to the repair shop twice in one day
  • Having enough food in our home that it’s okay to throw away that lettuce (and peppers, and zucchini, and tomato) that’s a bit soft. Hey, gimme a break, we were out of town for 4 days.
  • Coming home to the cutest dog in the whole world! Her waggy tail and big eyes makes my heart melt!
  • That DVR function that allows us to zoom through commercial breaks during our fave TV shows
  • A new hot water heater!
  • Lint rollers for when said cuteness spreads its love to black pants
  • A yummy new candle that makes our home smell like… a candle
  • A super cool husband who does endless amounts of laundry
  • And I’m thankful for this slicing adventure because it makes me do stuff like this and my day is a little less glummy. Rock on slicers!

4 comments

  1. ccahill2013 · March 23, 2016

    What a nice idea – to make a list of things you’re grateful for. So many important things on this list. I can relate to many of them – and the last one resonates with all of us, i’m sure!!!!

    Like

  2. Suzi · March 23, 2016

    Hey, Little. I’ve been catching up on your posts 🙂 I love reading your thoughts on life – thanks for sharing them with us! I’m grateful for YOU! xo

    Liked by 1 person

  3. travelinma · March 23, 2016

    Glummy….nothing is worse than being glummy however playing with words makes the day less glummy. I LOVE IT!

    Like

  4. sallydonnelly11 · March 23, 2016

    Your list is so inclusive and detailed. And humorous in parts! It makes me wonder if I could create such a list. Thanks for getting me to ponder! Thanks for sharing.

    Like

Leave a comment